About Us


The purpose of the Society is to preserve and share the unique history of Beaver island and the Archipelago.


The Society will share the unique historical stories of the Archipelago through the renovated and expanded museums.

Board Meetings:

Meetings are held the third Thursday of each month at 7 pm at Peaine Township Hall located at 36825 King's Hwy, Beaver Island (no meeting in December).
View past meeting minutes- Go to About Us → Board Meetings→ Choose Year and Month

Board Officers and Trustees:

President: Mark Engelsman / Vice President: Mike Weede / Secretary: Maeve Green / Treasurer: Roberta (Bobbi) Welke, / Trustees: Patrick Cull, John Fiegen, Sheri Timsak, Lynne Flanagan, Alvin LaFreniere, Angela Welke, Vincent Ebersoldt. Honorary Trustee: John Runberg.

Executive Director:

Lori Taylor-Blitz

By Laws:

View or download bylaws

GuideStar Profile:

Beaver Island Historical Society of Michigan- up-to-date nonprofit data